NAVAIR Vice Commander, Acting

Captain Michael Lisa, USN

Captain Mike Lisa graduated with distinction from the U.S. Naval Academy in 1999 with a bachelor’s degree in physics. He holds a master’s degree in physics from the Naval Postgraduate School and is a graduate of the U.S. Naval Test Pilot School. He has flown over 2,700 hours in 25 aircraft, 510 arrested landings including the first embarked arrested landing of the EA-18G aboard the USS Dwight D. Eisenhower.

At sea, his operational tours as an EA-6B and EA-18G pilot include five deployments aboard three aircraft carriers in support of Operations Unified Relief, New Dawn, Enduring Freedom and theater security operations in Combined Task Force Seven Zero.

He commanded the Electronic Attack Squadron 135 (VAQ-135) Black Ravens, who were recognized with the 2017 Golden Wrench, 2017 Tactical Excellence Award and the 2017 Association of Old Crows Outstanding Unit Award. CAPT Lisa was nominated by his peers and was the recipient of the 2018 VADM James B. Stockdale Award inspirational leadership award for his time in command of VAQ-135. 

His shore tours include Test Pilot in Air Test and Evaluation Squadron Two Three (VX-23); Safety Officer and Instructor Pilot in Electronic Attack Squadron 129 (VAQ-129); Integrated Product Team Lead for the F/A-18 and EA-18G Program Office (PMA-265), EA-18G Requirements Officer for Commander, Electronic Attack Wing Pacific, Deputy Program Manager for the  Mission Integration and Special Programs Office (PMA-298), and Director Maritime Accelerated Acquisition for Program Executive Office, Unmanned and Weapons (PEO U&W).

CAPT Lisa has been privileged to serve with high performing teams that have excelled in operations. He is authorized to wear the Meritorious Service Medal (2 awards), Air Medal, Navy Commendation (2 awards), and Navy Achievement Medal (4 awards). Other awards include the 2005 CDR Louis “Seadog” Fodor Memorial Award, 2013 CNAF Pacific Fleet Pilot of the Year, 2015 National Navy League’s Vice Admiral John Perry Award, 2015 Navy and Marine Association Leadership Award, 2018 Navy and Marine Association Leadership Award, and the 2018 Tailhooker of the Year Award. 

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.