NAWCWD adds 47 more ESDP graduates

Rear Adm. Scott Dillon, front left, NAWCWD commander, Joan Johnson, front right, NAWCWD executive director, and Command Master Chief Scottie Cox, back right, honor the newest Engineer and Scientist Development Program graduates at Naval Air Warfare Center Weapons Division China Lake on May 28. (U.S. Navy photo by Ron Rodriguez)

China Lake honors record number of ESDP graduates

Forty-seven new graduates were recognized for completing the Engineer and Scientist Development Program at Naval Air Warfare Center Weapons Division during a China Lake ceremony May 28. The largest class of the program’s 16-year existence joined 12 additional graduates who were honored during an earlier ceremony at Point Mugu the same day, bringing the program’s graduate total to 798.

The program requires participants to complete three to five rotational tours, a minimum of 300 hours of training, in addition to training toward receiving their Defense Acquisition Workforce Improvement Act level 2 certification.

“It’s people like you, who have completed a program like ESDP, who have thought about problems from different perspectives,” said Rear Adm. Scott Dillon, NAWCWD commander, in his opening remarks, “and you understand the importance of listening to other voices and seeking out information that might not be completely consistent with your own judgement or opinions. You are the leaders of this organization and what you bring to the table is what’s going to allow us to move forward in new, innovative ways. That’s really the key to the future success of this organization.”

Joan Johnson, NAWCWD executive director, shared Dillon’s enthusiasm about the graduates’ part in the future of the organization.

“Now, more than ever, we’ve got to step up and do what we know how to do best, and that is deliver cutting-edge capability to the warfighter and retain that tactical advantage,” Johnson said as she closed out the ceremony. “I feel excited about our future because we have outstanding teammates like you. You’re focused on accomplishing the mission, and I know you will not accept the status quo. Keep up the great work and do not let your foot off the gas.”

The 47 graduates from China Lake were: Jeffrey Ackerman, Raul Arrieta Jr, Hadja Bah, Luis Bobadilla, Triumphal Bridges, Benjamin Burnison, Nicholas Cape, Matthew Channer, Phillip Charles Jr, Rudy Chavez Jr, Ciarra Cornelius, Erika Cunningham, Robert Duncan, Scott Ertl, Derek Fitchett, Matthias Gastler, Raymond Harker, Katherine Harriger, Katelyn Haverstock, Timothy Kilper, Gwang Kim, Brian Lam, Kevin Le, Tae Lee, Gabriel Maestas, Pedro Morelia, Omid Nabipour, Mark Norman, Radley Obligacion, Andrew Onanian, Katelynn Orona, Nick Quigley, Don Reynolds, Hector Rodriguez-Gonzalez, Scott Slaughter, Victor Small, Eric Starr, Mary Starr, Richard Tawney, Carlos Terrazas, Roman Terrazas, Aaron Utterback, Roben Van Dusen, Robert Vollmerhausen, Christopher Ward, Barry Wise and Jian Zhang.



Public Affairs Officer Contact:

Contact NAVAIR

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.