Are you sure you would like to delete this article?


NAWCWD team gets international award for cooperative efforts

TTCP award
Mary Miller, acting assistant secretary of defense for research and engineering, left, poses with representatives from the Electronic Warfare System Multi-Panel Geolocation Transition Team during an award ceremony Jan. 11 in the Pentagon’s Hall of Heroes in Washington, D.C. (U.S. Army Photo by Sgt. Alicia Brandl)
Naval Air Warfare Center Weapons Division’s ALQ-227 Low-band Geolocation Team earned The Technical Cooperation Program’s 2017 Electronic Warfare Systems Group Team Award; they received the award in a Jan. 11 ceremony in the Pentagon’s Hall of Heroes.

The team, working in concert with TTCP’s EW Group Multi-Panel Geolocation Team, supported a multinational geolocation transition project that helped evolve the EA-18G Growler’s electronic warfare capabilities.

“The new baseline geolocation capability, which has been flight tested on an EA-18G …, will provide single ship geolocation capabilities against specific emitters of interest,” wrote Joan Johnson, NAWCWD executive director, in a memorandum supporting the team’s nomination.

The capability will be a requirement in an upcoming Block Upgrade for the Growler.

“This effort is an excellent example of pull-through of TTCP activities and sharing the burden of our joint defense needs for a more secure world,” she continued.

TTCP is an international organization that collaborates in defense scientific and technical information exchange; program harmonization and alignment; and shared research activities for the governments of United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. U.S. participation is led by the assistant secretary of defense for research and engineering.

U.S. members of the team were: John Allred, Steve Fisher, Mike Hancock, John Koch, Katie Nazeck, Kristen Noor, Charlene Parr, Parth Patel, Vinh Phan, William Reynolds, Jon Risden, Nate Sherwood, Genesis Smith, and Jose Tristan.